Tis the Season…to stay balanced

a6677d91afaab5d89a5f82b01dd42a1c

With Thanksgiving behind us and Christmas rapidly approaching, I am finding it harder and harder to stick to my daily routine…kids in school, training, eating right, household duties, errands, meals…..

I am a mom of three littles so naturally this time of year brings a whole lot of excitement..and cookies…and breads…and feasts. They just had a week off from school and will have another two weeks off for winter break in 3 short weeks. With them being home, my daily schedule is thrown off. I feel guilty for leaving for my 2-3 hour bike rides, or my 1-2 hour runs, and getting to the pool seems impossible. I find myself putting off my training session to spend time with them. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad thing. I just NEED to find a balance in it all. What did I do in years past? Why is this year so much different? Well, this is the first year that I have trained during the winter months. Every other year, I would finish racing in November and take a few months off. Well, that isn’t an option this year. With Vineman 70.3 just 222 days (not that I’m counting) away, I can’t afford to take 2 months off.

So, I made it through Thanksgiving dinner and the week long break with the kids. I managed to get almost all my workouts in without the kids missing a meal. They like to act like they are going to die when I am gone for more than an hour. It’s wonderful…let me tell you!! But back to the point….I didn’t stuff myself at either Thanksgiving feast (we had 2). I did enjoy a few cookies and a slice of pie. I am not a believer in removing the foods and treats you love, I just have them in moderation. For me, if I allow myself to have a cookie here and there, I don’t feel the need to eat all two dozen when I am finished baking them. I skipped on the hot chocolate as we walked around a neighborhood looking at Christmas lights because I didn’t need it. I skipped Starbucks one morning, when it was offered, because I didn’t need it. I am struggling enough with this winter training and I know if I say yes to ALL the goodies presented in front of me, it will only get harder.

Today when I woke up, there was a post on my facebook page about goals and holding yourself accountable. I taught my spin class this morning and presented them with a similar message. And as the afternoon went on, I found myself thinking about it again and again (which is what prompted this). I have goals. I set daily, weekly, monthly, and long term goals. Some I share with others and some I keep to myself. I know that remaining balanced this next month is going to be key for me in order to reach the goals I have set for myself. I will get my training done because I am committed to reaching my goals. I will spend quality time with my family and friends because I couldn’t do half the things I do without their love and support. They are a key factor in my happiness and success. I will keep food on the table, clean clothes on my family, and groceries in the fridge because my family depends on me to get these things done. I will continue with holiday traditions and create new ones for my children because this is an exciting holiday season for them. I will remain balanced in all areas because, if not, things will get ugly. A stressed out, frustrated, over stimulated mom is not a pretty sight. Take my word for it.web

In the next month, I encourage you all to find your own balance. Holidays can be hard for some. Please be kind to all those you encounter, even the rude ladies at Target. And the grumpy old men in the parking lots. You never know what their story may be. It may be your smile that brightens their day. Enjoy a cookie, slice of pie, or an extra dinner roll. But don’t lose sight of your fitness and health goals. Oh, you don’t have a goal to keep yourself accountable?? MAKE ONE! Don’t be part of the statistic that gains 7-10 pounds between Thanksgiving and Christmas and then frantically try to work it off in January. Keep your health and happiness a priority..today…tomorrow..all year long.

large_happy-holidays-title.png

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tis the Season…to stay balanced

Leave a Reply

